Tiramisu Cheesecake Mousse

IMG_2752

Once upon a time, I had this Tiramisu.  It was the singular most perfect dish I’ve ever eaten.  I was in a town just outside of Milan, at this beautiful restaurant.  The lighting was dim, all the tables were long; perfect for huge groups of people, big families together.  It was at least ten at night, if not later, and the children were running around, wildly.  A friend INSISTED I try the tiramisu.  It was different than any I’d ever had.  Instead of being that firm, perfect construction, it was proudly messy and melty.  Instead of the lady fingers being soggy with coffee liquor as they so often are, they were cakey and fluffy, the mascarpone so velvety and smooth… and then the chocolate sauce..

 733_103030385651_8481_nThis was that heavenly dessert.

This is not that.  This is a simple mousse version.  I have to work my way up, I’ll let you know when I get there.

Ingredients:

  • 1  1/2 tsp coffee, instant works, espresso is best
  • 1  1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 oz mascarpone
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 tbsp confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ounce dark baking chocolate
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup coffee liqueur (I used Patron, as that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 cup crushed biscotti

IMG_2763

Directions:

Prepare coffee, allow to cool to room temp.

Beat cream until stiff peaks form.  Set aside.

Beat egg yolks and confectioners sugar until thick and pale.  Whip together cheeses, vanilla, powdered sugar, and beat until smooth, fold in with egg yolks.  Fold in whipped cream and coffee.

Crumble biscotti.  Shave chocolate.

Layer as desired, I chose to do so: coffee/cheese mixture, cookie, liqueur, chocolate, repeat.  Dust top with chocolate shavings.

IMG_2753

Wine Pairing: Let’s spice things up; have a Limoncello.

Leave a Reply

