Russian Caramels

FullSizeRender (8)

One of the things I absolutely loved about living in London was not needing to own a vehicle.  They’re expensive, annoying things, and I loved the freedom of public transport, and my inclination to walk places.  Upon my move here to Australia, I’ve found myself a position within walking distance of my home, and live near the centre of a Sunshine Coast suburb (plenty of shops and restaurants near by).  Recently I bought a genuine retro bicycle from this lovely gentleman and his son.  They were kind enough to bring the bicycle to me, and I thanked them with cheesecake.  The other day they returned the favour by bringing me this jar full of treats.  Little did they know, every Christmas my Oma (grandmother), whom I miss every day, would have these around the house.  We called them “Cow Candies” as the wrapper was a yellow paper with a cow on it.  It’s funny how the universe works!

To prepare you: these are not gooey, or sticky.  The texture more closely resembles a fudge (I do not normally like fudge), and the flavour is that of caramel.

Ingredients:

  • 1 395g can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar

Directions:

Melt butter over medium heat in a medium sized pot.  Stir in sugar. Stir in condensed milk until completely incorporated. Boil the mixture for 20 minutes, whilst stirring constantly, until it becomes a slightly darker colour, and the consistency is smooth and thick.

IMG_2386

This should take about half an hour- 45 minutes.  Be careful not to allow this to burn, it can happen quickly!  Once it reaches that point the caramel will harden to a thicker consistency than desired. Line a cookie sheet with wax paper, and pour mixture evenly onto it.  After caramel has cooled to room temp, mark out where you’ll cut it.  Refrigerate for half and hour, cut, and serve.

2 thoughts on “Russian Caramels

  1. Hi, I just tried to make this and it all separated- I guess I burnt it? I set my timer for 20 minutes and stirred constantly over a medium heat but the butter separated and it wouldn’t come together. The kids still like it but I want to make this properly. Would you suggest a lower heat?

    Like

Leave a Reply

